Ford Mustang Forum banner

Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 20 of 99 Posts

·
Registered
44 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I drive an auto and I'm a college student. With that said what are things I should do to my GT that would make it more fast, but not cost me alot of money? Or things I should do, but I need to save my money for. Thanks for the input.

·
Registered
106 Posts
gears are gonna be ur next big thing about 4-5 hundred with install

·
Registered
44 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·

·
Registered
1,760 Posts
gears just vary the speed that your driveshaft spins at the higher the gears the faster they spin my opinion if you want to get a blower in the future get 373 gears if you plan on building the engine no blower get 410s.. my suggestion get a tuner so you can set the shift points in your automatic.. only if you can do the install yourself get gears if not id suggest to hold off because the install is like 500$

·
Registered
44 Posts
Discussion Starter · #6 ·
$500? Ouch! Do you know what tuner would best for an auto and are they hard to figure out?

·
Registered
1,955 Posts
I have never heard of 500 for gear install ? I hope you guys are talking parts and labor combined. I had less then 400 for parts and labor. install should be no more then 250.00........:headscratch:

·
Registered
537 Posts
yeah 250 would be a better estimate for install.

·
Registered
2,827 Posts
It varies at different shops. I paid bout 200 for the install. So lets just say total of $450 for gears (parts and labor) and a tuner ($400). And like FM2KGT said, if ya gonna supercharge go 3.73, but if not, go 4.10. This whole combination will give ya the best bang for the buck and will make the bigggest difference. Well worth $800-$850.

·
Registered
258 Posts
I paid 200 for the gears and 175 for installation in a Mustang only speed shop. Get 4.10 or 3.73 gears.