Ford Mustang Forum banner
Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
22 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am about to get started on replacing the vinyl on the front and back seats on my 66 mustang coupe. I have read and re-read a dozen articles on doing this. I have never done a project like this before, but it looks doable to a first timer. I would appreciate any advice or suggestions from somebody who has already taken on and completed a project like this. Thanks.....Ace

·
Registered
547 Posts
You should be able to do this project just fine if you take your time. A couple suggestions based on past experience. Install the new vinyl on a hot day. Let it sit in the sun a while. This will give you some extra wiggle room. Get a good pair of hog ring pliers. The ones that come with the kits are usually crap. Your hands will thank you later. I also picked up a mini bolt cutter (about 8") to clip the old hog rings. Using standard wire cutters is a pain.

I'm sure others will offer good advice as well. Let us know how it turns out!

G

·
I did the seats on my 66 and it was an experience! Some tips... everything listed above PLUS take it slow. I would also invest in new seat buns to get a nice uniform look under the upholstery.

Wear some thin latex gloves and you'll avoid a few cuts. I also second the notion of getting good hog ring pliers... they will save you a heap of grief.

Give us some before and after pics too!:bigthumbsup

·
Registered
22 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
Thanks for the insight guys. I really appreciate you taking the time to write those posts. I will heed all warnings and proceed with caution. Once I figure out how to post pics...IT'S ON!!

·
Registered
765 Posts