Ford Mustang Forum banner

1 - 20 of 32 Posts

·
Registered
16 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
The long version of the problem back 2010 I purchased the Edelbrock E-force #1585 setup from a supposedly reputable supplier that had good reviews.
The kit I purchased came with the eforce supercharger unit, GT500 fuel pumps 60lb injectors NGK cold plugs, Cold air intake MAF sensor cooling system and belt tensioner upgrades. I don’t remember the diameter of the pulley but, I was aiming for 10psi. It also came with an SCT tuner with what was supposed to be a custom daily driver 91 octane tune.
They claimed to have thousands of hours of R&D on their tunes and when I talked to them I made it clear the bottom end was stock. They said no problem with this Setup and tune it would hold up. I was kind of hesitant with that much boost at first but looking at their reviews and seeing some videos of projects they had done I went for it.
Note I am a trained mechanic not your average hobbyist in the garage no offense to them but I am just noting that when I tell you I installed the S\C myself. Almost everything was plug and play very little modification needed. I did everything step by step and double checked it came with an excellent instruction guide from Edelbrock.
When I started the car it came to life with the first twist of the key everything was perfect no leaks no problems it was running great. For two tanks of gas everything was perfect, it pulled strong, idled smooth, there were no strange noises or ill effects in fact I was impressed at how quiet the S/C was it did not have the loud trade make whine of the KB or whipple systems, it had no drivability issues at all. I did rip on it some I had to it was running great but I never really abused or thrashed it.