Ford Mustang Forum banner

1 - 4 of 4 Posts

·
Registered
91 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
OK so i am new here and i am looking to improve the overall performance of my mustang. I have a 1987 Mustang GT 5.0 HO. I bought the car from a guy and he rebuilt the motor to put a cam in it and bored it out a little. Plus he put a bad ass shift kit in the car. This car is great. Needs work but a great car. I'm asking anyone and everyone to help. I do not have a bunch of money but i am looking to get more horsepower, gas mileage, overall better performance in any and every way that is affordable. please let me know of some of the small upgrades i can do and the type or brand of a good performance part. Any where from spark plugs to oil to wires to distributor cap/rotor. im wanting to put top of the line things in it and starting with all the good performance tune up parts. I am new to the mustang scene and want to know what are the best performance parts for this car. Im very mechanically inclined but i want to know what i can and cant do so i dont mess anything up! All the help will be more than welcome and much appreciated. This is my daily driver, my toy and project. Thank you

·
Registered
702 Posts
Welcome to the site!

I would look at gears for the rear end. If the axle isn't marked, you'll have to jack it up and rotate the tire and count the revolutions of the driveshaft to get a good estimate of the ratio. If it's below 3.73 you might want to get some in there. Instant seat of the pants kick.

·
Registered
2,057 Posts