Ford Mustang Forum banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey all, I've constantly used this forum for advise but never actually posted questions, so go easy on me, this is my first time actually reaching out for some assistance.

My car has been idling rough and stalling out, it doesn't matter if I'm sitting at a red light, or if I push the clutch in to shift. I've checked the lines and I replaced the IAC earlier today. It needed to be done; I just recently purchased this mustang and the previous owner did a terrible job maintaining the car (it was a great price, I knew it needed work). I know the IAC is pretty faulty and a common issue for this engine; I was hoping it'd fix the issue but it didn't. It's cleaned up the stalling SOME but I'm still experiencing intermittent issues. It doesn't seem to matter whether or not I drive hard or light, or what the weather conditions are (Rain/Temp).

I was considering the PCV and the EGR, but before I just start putting more cash into various replacements, I was hoping for a little direction/advise. I'm going to order a replacement PCV anyway from: Ford Motorcraft Mustang PCV Valve EV98B (80-01 V8) - unless someone has a better suggestion.

2000 GT 5spd, convertible - 133,xxx miles

Thanks in advance!

- Salvatore

·
Registered
6,859 Posts
Just wondering. Are there any mods? Is the battery in tip top shape?

Did you dis-connect the battery? If so, the PCM needs time to re-learn new idle trim values. Even if the battery wasn't disconnected there is now a new IAC valve that the PCM will need time to re-learn.

Regarding the PCV system. Repairs to the PCV value are maintenance items. So not really throwing $$'s away.

Have you cleaned the MAF? Use only a cleaner designed for the job.

Have you checked the spark plug wells for moisture? While you are at it, what about the condition of the spark plugs?