Ford Mustang Forum banner
1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
37 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Here is my vin OF05M186073 ,all original . What is do I have a 351C or a 351M and what is the differance? Yes I'm new at this:laughlitt
Thanks, Dave

·
Registered
1,161 Posts
Don't know about the vin#, but as far as I know the 351-M was never offered in a Mustang and were 2V engines. The block is wider due to a taller deck height and has a 3" main instead of the 2.75" main in a 351-C.

·
Registered
125 Posts
first digit - 0 - 1970
sec digit - F - Dearborn
third digit - ?
fourth digit - 5 - body serial code
fifth digit - M - engine code 351-4V

Cleveland fuel pump bolts are verticle.
Windsor fuel pump bolts are horizontal.

·
Registered
2,624 Posts
Are you sure it isn't a W? In 1970 Ford was phasing out the Cleveland (C) to replace it with the Windsor (W). It's going to be either a 351C or 351W.

·
Registered
787 Posts
1970 was the first year for the 351c engine I owned two . The 1969 model cars had 351 w engines and that was the first year for the w engine. Both engines will bolt up to the small block bell housing. The 351m was a truck engine and appeared later around 75 and bolted to the big block bell housings. 90lx bracket car

·
Registered
37 Posts
Discussion Starter · #9 ·
351/c

Yup, it has 8bolts so a 351c it is ,
It has a Crane cam grind number SR-238/350-2S-12 INSTALED what would be a good distributor ,Crane said I should use a steel distributor gear . like there Pro-Curve Billet Distributor #1000-1605
Any thoughts?

·
Registered
10 Posts
Are you sure it isn't a W? In 1970 Ford was phasing out the Cleveland (C) to replace it with the Windsor (W). It's going to be either a 351C or 351W.