Ford Mustang Forum banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
52 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi, so I am still new to this whole modding thing as this si my first stang ever lol but It seems that since I installed the JLT CAI the car has had crappier gas mileage although I have noticed it gets to 80 a little faster to be sure and it is sweet to hear the hissing when you stomp on it.

I was wondering about the air inlet which sits below the filter on the JLT CAI. Is this enough air and is it possible that I am running too rich or lean now that this is installed? After i installed it, i cranked the AC to max with air recirculate on for approximately 5 minutes then turned the car off. Then i started the car again and ran it for 3 or so minutes with nothing on. Did I do something wrong?

Another thing, i am hearing a slight knocking that sounds like its from cheap gas at very low RPM's. I am going to fill up with something else next time as maybe the summer blend is junk? I live in Las Vegas, and it has been very hot lately 100+ so could that have somethign to do with it as well?

The only other mod I have done is put magnaflow performance axle-backs on. They sound awesome BTW. Have an SCT tuner and ordering Bama tunes in a couple days

ideas and opinions?

·
Registered
64 Posts
The jlt cai requires a tune. I suggest putting back the stock intake until you get the tunes.

·
Registered
150 Posts
yeah AM says no tune required on the JLT intake. I'd up your octane for a while to see if the knock goes away and maybe the tune will fix your mpg.

·
Registered
532 Posts
None of the CAIs for the v6 require a tune, at least not yet.
Steeda's says their CAI needs a tune. And my shop wrote a new tune after installing my Airaid.

·
Registered
288 Posts
Don't you think that maybe the drop in fuel economy has to do with how much you are enjoying the new toy(CAI)?
QFT! Are you perhaps enjoying that new roaring sound a little more than is economically reasonable?

B

·
0 Posts