Ford Mustang Forum banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
795 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey guys, I just got done installing my FMIC for my paxton Novi 1000... I have a powerpipe for it, but I am running into a problem. I will have to cut a section of the fender area so I can fit both the powerpipe and the return for the FMIC. Instead of chopping up my car, will I see any noticeable decrease in boost or any power if I just pop the filter directly on the head unit and pack away the powerpipe for later use if I decide to chop the car up??

Thanks in advance for the advice! :rockwoot:

·
Registered
1,575 Posts
I'm not an expert on superchargers, but I have years of experience with industrial air compressors and fluid dynamics. From what I understand, the power pipe is basically a pipe that is supposed to go between the supercharger inlet and the air filter, correct? If so, attaching the filter directly to the inlet will not theoretically affect power in any way. What will affect the power; however, is the added heat from the engine compartment and the supercharger itself. Locating the air filter in the engine bay without any heat shielding will result in higher inlet temperatures.

In short, there should be no significant decrease in power or boost, with exception of the effect the added heat will have. The added heat might result in lower maximum boost due to hot air being less dense, but I doubt there will be a big difference in horsepower, not noticeable to you at least.

·
Registered
795 Posts
Discussion Starter #3