Ford Mustang Forum banner

1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey everyone! I am new to the Mustang community. I am looking to make my first purchase, and a 1964.5 Mustang has caught my eye. The current owner has had it for about 10 years and the only issue he ever had was that he had to rebuild the generator.

I am looking for a great starter car that I can drive a good bit (If I buy it I want to show it off). I am waiting to get the VIN so I can verify the information, but it is supposed to have the original 289 that was rebuilt a couple years ago. The owner wants 8,500...what are your thoughts for the vehicle???

Thanks so much!
Michael

Attachments

·
Registered
209 Posts
Before you even think about whether or not the price is fair, you need to look underneath and/or check out the floor pans. On early Mustangs it was not uncommon for water to come in the cowl opening in front of the windshield and rot out the floor pans. I had a '65 that had just that happen to it. Then, check out the torque boxes for rust also.

If you still want the car, the price should reflect the amount you will have to spend to fix any issues.

The exterior paint looks OK, the engine compartment looks a little dull / rusty. The power steering pump is rusted and the radiator sure isn't recently new or repainted.....

Go to EBay Motors for 1965 Mustangs & see what people are asking for similar cars. Hardtops were plentiful, fastbacks and convertibles less so.:winks

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Thanks for the info. I am going to see it in person tomorrow to check for rusty areas. With it being a unibody construction, rust is an utmost concern. I will also be looking for areas that have bondo.

I just figured it doesnt to get as much advice as I can with it being my first go around!

·
Registered
209 Posts
S

·
0 Posts
Welcome to AFM! I moved this to the Classic section to see what the guys and gals there think.

Thanks for joining!
:bigthumbsup

·