Ford Mustang Forum banner

1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
47 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
A bit of background info. . .

88 mustang lx with speed density. Only mod is CAI. 56k kilometres (believe its a canadian model?). Generally good condition.

Here's what's happening. . . Car will run fine when warmed up but from cold it has a bad misfire. I have reset the comp several times (disconnect battery). After reset the car will run rough for a little while then run well, I assume after it has relearnt settings and such. It will run well from cold the next day, but if started again from cold after that its back to stumbling and misfiring.

I'm relatively new to this but here's my .02 anyway. I have noticed a couple of breaks in the sparkplug wires and know this could cause a problem similar to mine but a computer reset wouldnt cause this to go away and come back again, would it? New wires, cap, rotor and coil have been ordered but seem to be taking forever to get here. Also figured it could be a fuel delivery problem so ordered new injectors and fuel filter. I did notice a couple of days ago that I could have an exhaust leak between head and manifold on cylinder #5. Managed to get round to tightening the bolts yesterday (got around 1 1/4 turn out of both bolts) but same problem persists. Ran well this morning after resetting comp yesterday then tried it after it completely cooled down and still misfires and stumbles under load. Could I still have a leak? I figure thats most likely as the o2 sensor would still be telling the comp the engine is lean and over compensating after reset? Does this sound feasible?

Got check engine code 22 KOEO map sensor out of self test range? Do I need a new sensor? Can it be fixed / cleaned?
KOER - 32 - 33 egr below min voltage, not opening. Probably needs cleaning?