Ford Mustang Forum banner

1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
63 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Ok so there are a couple threads out there about motor mounts, but I can't find exactly what I'm looking for, so I'm asking.

Total newbie here. I'm doing a rebuild on my 1967 Coupe 289 and my motor mounts don't appear to be cracked at all. What is the criteria for when you should replace your motor mounts? I'm on a tight budget, but I also don't want to cut corners. If my motor mounts look fine, is it ok to reuse them? Or should I just spend the extra dough and get new mounts? I really appreciate the help y'all!

·
Registered
263 Posts
its just an opinion of mine: if i and it actually did happen to me, have the engine out, i might as well put new once in regardless of the look of old once, since they are still old. Rubber is rubber it might not look cracked but its elasticity and all that might not be performing as it should. If you cant afford best once atleast get OEM from local part store, they will be refurbs most likely, thats what i got, each for 25, worked out grt for me.

·
Registered
3,166 Posts
I've posted a couple of replies to the fact that the 67 V8 motor mounts are unique geometrically to the 67 model year. It's hard to tell the difference from the late 1966, 68 thru 1970 mounts which are all the same. The aftermarket listings will list 67's mounts as being the same as all of the other years, but if they're compared side by side, you'll see the angle and the height difference.

If you do install non-67 specific mounts you will find it difficult to get the long through bolts to go into place. The mounts will appear to be about 1/4" short. If you stretch the mounts to install the bolts, the mount on the driver's side will fail and separate in short order. That's the side that lifts when power is demanded from the engine.