Ford Mustang Forum banner

Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
96 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Im new to this forum, and i've been reading about exhaust info, and im new to mods on my car too. I have a 1990 GT, and i am thinking about putting on some dr.gas/ spintech mufflers, but would you guys reccomend getting new tailpipes, or do you think it would still sound good with the stock ones? Like I said, im new, and i have a limited budget, but i want t get my car sounding good without going flowmasters or spending 600 bucks on a system.

·
Registered
155 Posts
ok well it probably is going to be hard to belive but i have stock exhast except for a homade h pipe (made on to stock exhaust) and flowmasters with turndowns...sound damn good...thats how i bought it and i am doing some mods on it eventually....maybe maybe 140 for the 2 mufflers???

·
Registered
96 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Hmm.. say i just buy a set of free flowing mufflers, and i keep the stock tailpipes on, would that decrease the sound quality? Or would i be better of getting say like 2.5 diameter tailpipes?

·
Registered
39 Posts
pro dump

Just buy a set of pro dump mufflers or somthing, then you won't need any tail pipes. A set goes for about 190 and is a direct bolt on. www.50resto.com if you want the tailpipes for cosmetic reasons then your stock pipes might limit a little sound. 50resto.com also has a kit that runs around 250 for a nice sounding set of mufflers and tailpipes. Personally I'd buy a set of DynoMax mufflers and put some turn downs on them. Not too expensive and sounds great. Just as long as you dont care if there aren't tail pipes showing.

·
Registered
30 Posts