Ford Mustang Forum banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
42 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm new to the game of modifying my Mustang and I need some input on this. I had some tuning done on my Stang after I got my C & L intake, using DiabloSport Predator (93 ocatne). The tuning was done by a speedshop that doesn't specialize in Mustangs but rather in imports (STI's). I had some good numbers on their DynoJet, 280 RWHP and 290 RWTQ. However, I have the opportunity to get some Dyno tuning done by a Mustang expert and their shop uses a Mustang Dyno. I was just wondering what the differences are between the two Dyno's so I can do a fair comparison of numbers after my next tune.

·
Registered
131 Posts
I was told up front by my tuner that the numbers he was going to give me were going to be lower then a DynoJet. My tuner uses a Mustang Dyno. I have asked why the diffrent numbers and have been told that DynoJet uses a diffrent program and dyno platform to reach the numbers they give out. My tuner said that a "DJ" will show around 15% higher numbers and that a Mustang Dyno are more of a true number.

I would ask why all of the aftermarket companys want to use the DynoJet numbers when talking about the product they are selling. Higher HP and Torq numbers look great on paper being eveyone wants to have the best numbers showing.

I trust my tuner and the numbers he gives me for my car. I would rather have numbers that are more in line with what the engine can put out then numbers that are not true. "JMO"

·
Registered
42 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
I don't blame the aftermarket companies for using the DynoJet since the % increases from stock should be the same as on a Mustang Dyno. However, you are right that the bottom line numbers will look a little inflated.