Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 20 of 61 Posts

·
Registered
19 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Dear all,

I have been driving my mustang gt cs (2012) for about 3 months and the fuel consumption has really taken a toll on my purse...I find myself filling gas every 5 days and I don't even drive that much.

The car is manual so unless I am doing something terribly wrong, the car is just not very fuel economical.

I live in Canada so we use km/L here, my car's fuel economy is like 6.25km/L which is equivalent to about 14.69 miles/gallon...

I do not drive like a maniac so I wonder why the actual number is so different from the number that ford advertises.

Does anyone have similar problems with their 5.0 ???

I don't think I can afford this car anymore lol....I totally thought it was ok when I saw the window sticker and stuff...the fuel economy seemed fine on paper =(

Any feedback or suggestion would be greatly appreciated, thanks for your time!

·
Registered
28 Posts
Does something feel wrong with the engine? Are you using the right grade of gasoline?

I always use 93 octane, and my average right now is 20.1mpg. And I'm no light foot. I do care for the car religiously and drive like a grandpa unless the situation calls for otherwise. And I'm not much of a speeder... until the situation calls for otherwise :winks.

Just try keeping your RPMs low, that's what it's all about. Without bogging the engine anyway.

·
Registered
493 Posts
i drive a v6. but i believe it all depends on how you drive, you may be riding to high in your rpms, or all those launches at stop lights add up and drain your gas. i always ride in as high as gear as possible without the engine wanting to sputter or bogg.

·
Registered
2,666 Posts
My fuel economy started off really bad when I first got mine too, but when it starts to break in you will see the efficiency increase a bit. Be sure to follow the manual with the break-in recommendations.

·
Registered
131 Posts