Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
14 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
building my first motor just want some help

i have a 1991 mustang 5.0 im doing a ground up build i have gt40p heads eagle stock length rods im wondering if any one can help me i want to know what pistons and cams others have used in simular set ups or what people think i should use or if anyone has parts they want to sell this is my first time useing a forum and my firts motor so any help would be great

·
Registered
1,906 Posts
well how strong of a motor do you want?? is it for racing, street/strip/ or just daily driver?

·
Registered
14 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
budget 5.0 build help or parts wanted

im building a motor this is my firts complete build i want a streets strip motor i have a complete 1999 explorer motor with 35k miles i want to use the gt40p heads and the intake but my question is what pistons have people used or think i should use and what cam do you suggest part numbers if possable would be awsome but any help would be great:scratchchin

·
Registered
1,906 Posts
if your wanting to run a stroked crank, definately get forged pistons. pro-power, dss racing summit racing and lots of other can supply a lightweight but strong piston. eagle rods are good. but i would talk to rlg34750 about building your first motor. he has a lot more experiance than i would, regarding piston size, ring gap, deck height and all that stuff. if your going to do a lot of abusive or severe driving, i would strongly recommend getting a windage tray and/or main girdle. you dont want those main caps walking around on ya, or even just have your machine shop turn your block into a 4-bolt main, with the windage tray. im not really to comfortable building high-performance motors myself, im just a beginner too

·
Registered
540 Posts