Ford Mustang Forum banner
Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
102 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey guys. I've got a friend at work that's got a 96 Corvette Automatic LT1 with roughly 85K miles. My Mustang is an auto as well and has a few minor mods such as CAI, exhaust tips, 93 octane tune from BamaChips. He's challenged me to a run at the drag strip. He's a good friend of mine and they'll be no hard feelings if either of us win of course.:hihi:

He says he's never raced before. My best 1/4 mile time was a 13.92 at 100.4mph. I've only been to the drag strip once so I'm not very experienced.My car will have new BF Goodrich KDW T/A's by the time I go. It's got cheap Avon all seasons now and those were the ones I had last time at the strip. Gonna have a bunch of people from work come watch. A lot of people at work think I'm gonna smoke him. What do you guys think? Be HONEST :shigrin I know we're all just a little biased.

·
Banned
9,214 Posts
i gotta pull for the GM on this one, then again i dont know much about your car. but the vette from the factory was prolly a mid to low 13 second stock

·
Registered
102 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
i gotta pull for the GM on this one, then again i dont know much about your car. but the vette from the factory was prolly a mid to low 13 second stock
You've got me nervous now, The only record of 1/4 mile time for a C4 vette LT1 auto i could find was the "official" Car and Driver tested time of 14.1 seconds. I dunno if I should trust that though.The six speed manual vette of the same year is supposedly rated at 13.64 seconds.

·
Banned
9,214 Posts
it will prolly come down to driver.... but im still pulling for the gm...keep us posted!

·
Registered
1,995 Posts
If you can drive good and he is stock, you will take him.

·
Registered
1,495 Posts
It should be close but you should be able to edge him out. Good luck!!:bigthumbsup

·
Registered
1,650 Posts