Ford Mustang Forum banner
1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
1966 Mustang A-Code Coup, 289 V8 Automatic transmission
4 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey all - I am a total Noob to the group, so please excuse any poor etiquite in my first few posts...

I picked up a father/son project yesterday. it is a 66 A-Code Coup with a 289 4BBL, California car. It had been sitting in a warehouse for 40 years, so it needs a little TLC, but generally in good shape. Runs and drives, so check that box! It does, however, hesitate on initial acceleration.

It has A/C, Power Steering, Automatic, and front disc brakes. The guy I bought it from put a new 4BBL QFT Slayer carb on it that has an electronic choke. While poking around, I found a wide open metal vacuum line (I think?) hanging around the carb area, and I am thinking it used to be attached to a vacuum operated choke? Or maybe some kind of CA emissions control function? I capped it off for now, and didnt notice any difference at idle, but I will take it out for a spin later to see if it helps with the hesitation issue.

Can anyone tell me for sure what ths open line is? Looks like it attaches to the crank case, so I have to assume vacuum line - right?
Automotive tire Motor vehicle Bumper Gas Tread
Motor vehicle Automotive tire Gas Wood Tints and shades
Vehicle Hood Motor vehicle Automotive tire Automotive lighting
Automotive fuel system Motor vehicle Automotive design Automotive exterior Car

·
Administrator
4,791 Posts
Welcome Traviswright and thank you for joining ALLFORDMUSTANGS!
Please read the Site Rules if you haven’t already.
We encourage you to complete your Account Settings.
Do you need help posting? Please read this FAQ.

We’re happy you have chosen to be a part of our community.

Reactions: Traviswright

·
Registered
1967 Mercury Cougar XR7
2,925 Posts