Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 4 of 4 Posts

·
Registered
115 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
Hey guys,

Need some help with a couple of things...First I want you all to take a look at my spark plug I pulled to try and read what is going on:
http://www.ptg4air.com/pics/plug.jpg
Paxton advised me to do this to see if I was in fact running lean...It doesn't appear like I am looking at this plug but I am by no means an expert so please tell me what you think...It is a tannish/brown color which in my book looks "normal" which means I wouldn't have a lean condition...Question is since I always let off and never let it continuously detonate could I still have a lean condition despite how my plugs look????...If the answer is no did I waste my money on my new Adjustable FPR and Walbro 255lph HP pump????...Do I even need to install them????....I am almost sure a lean/lack of fuel is causing my problems but my plugs look good right???...Secondly to install my fuel pressure regulator my Haynes manual says removing the upper intake is not required but I swear I don't see how you would get to all 3 allen bolts without doing it...Does anyone know definatively if you do have to remove it????....I don't want to pull it if there is a trick to getting at the bolts or something...Also if I do have to remove it I am assuming that I need a new gasket too right?????Please let me know as this is getting old...Oh and one more thing, when I removed my plugs I noticed they were Autolite 25's...If memory serves correctly I believe those are stock correct?...It has been advised to go a step colder on the plugs would this be Autolite 24's????...How much do you think this may help the detonation problem if any???...Is it worth replacing them b/c that is an easy fix if it helps some...what exactly does a colder plug do for me???
Thanks,
Jason

·
Registered
253 Posts