Ford Mustang Forum banner

1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
At 2200 rpm i get a knock out of the driver side head and it stops at 3500 give or take a little. Also when i put my foot in it it stops no matter what rpm im at. I have never been inside of a mod motor and it sounds like i have a bad lifter but im not really sure. If anyone can tell me an easy way to swap the lifters without pulling the cams please do or just give me the details.........................

·
Registered
321 Posts
I'm surprised no one has replied to your thread. Im not an expert on engines but I do know that Mach 1s have the same DOHC as 96-98 cobras and they don't have lifters. Have you checked your manifolds and exhaust piping for any gasket leaks or holes?

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
My right header has a small hole about the size of a flea but the sound isnt from that side. The guys at HPP racing think its a rod bearing but the motor is new it has about 10,000 miles on it and has had the knock from day one for the past year i have beat the hell out of the car and its the same never more never less. It's not lifters its lash adjusters right?

·
Registered
2,288 Posts
It could be a number of things......i dont know how well you are with vehicles but it could be vavle if it sounds like it's coming from the head, could be a lapped main bearing seen it happen many of times, could be a rod bearing, could be wrist pin i had a 76 390 that had a bad wrist pin and it sounded like a lifter tick.....you say you have beat the hell out of the car????

My only conclusion would probably be to pull the motor and find out what the deal is cause it could possibly mess some stuff up depending on what it is. Good Luck!

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
Yeah I beat on her but this knock was in the motor from first start up and she holds or has for about 10,000 miles

·
Registered
2,288 Posts