Ford Mustang Forum banner

Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
2,021 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Well, my front brakes need to be replaced, so I thought I may as well spend a little bit more money to get some better stopping power. What will I need to upgrade my brakes? Do I just need to upgrade the pads, or should I do the calipers/rotors/cylinders as well? What would give me the best bang for the buck? Also, I'm fairly mechanically inclined, but I've never done a brake job before. Should I just take it to the shop, give them my aftermarket parts, and tell them to do it for me? Or is it worth the hassle to throw them in myself?

·
Registered
1,871 Posts
it is easy to do yourself. If you want some aftermarket stopping power look for a slotted rotor for all 4 corners. The stock calipers are fine, you could always upgrade to some stainless steel brake lines on all fours. There are many different types of pads out there, I guess it is just preference.
If you have the cash to toss around and have some 17" rims on the car allready, the cobra 4 piston calipers are a great upgrade if you can afford the price tag.

·
Registered
2,579 Posts
Depends on how much money you want to spend. Ideally, you should buy a Cobra or Bullit brake upgrade which includes calipers, rotors, and pads. If you are trying to do this on the cheap, buy some high performance pads and cross-drilled and slotted rotors. I just installed some EBC pads and Brembo cross-drilled and slotted rotors last month and am very happy with my new stopping ability.

·
Registered
11,432 Posts
Monkey Boy said: