Ford Mustang Forum banner

1 - 4 of 4 Posts

·
Registered
14 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey guys. I just purchased a very clean white 93 Mustang GT with 125,000 miles. It has a full exhaust, CAI, and short throw as the only mods. I'm loving it but have a few questions.

It runs great for the most part except for some slight hesistation backfiring under load when it's not warmed up to full operating temp.

The steering feels a little loser than I like. I'm assuming either tie rods or worn rack. Is that a common issue on these cars?

I want to do a full tune up with new plugs, wires, fuel filter, air filter, cap and rotor. Am I missing anything? Any recomendations on brands for a good cap and rotor as well as plugs and wires? I'm new to these cars.

·
Registered
269 Posts
Hey guys. I just purchased a very clean white 93 Mustang GT with 125,000 miles. It has a full exhaust, CAI, and short throw as the only mods. I'm loving it but have a few questions.

It runs great for the most part except for some slight hesistation backfiring under load when it's not warmed up to full operating temp.

The steering feels a little loser than I like. I'm assuming either tie rods or worn rack. Is that a common issue on these cars?

I want to do a full tune up with new plugs, wires, fuel filter, air filter, cap and rotor. Am I missing anything? Any recomendations on brands for a good cap and rotor as well as plugs and wires? I'm new to these cars.

Clean your mass air flow sensor not sure if that will fix your hesitation or not, but will get dirty.
While your are giving your car a tune-up, you might might to replace you ignition module and you p.i.p. sensor(both in your distributor. they will fail!!!
Power steering racks def. wear out over time. had to replace mine last year for that reason.
As far as brand names there are so many out there. I use Ford products, just because the dealer is just down the road, but just about any manufacturer will work.:bigthumbsup

·
Registered