Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
312 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey all,

I've had my GT for one week today and I'm new to driving manual transmission.

Aside from a few classic rookie mistakes (like reving it too much before a take off or reverse) I'm doing fairly well and have already put 300 miles or so on it..

My question is,

Some times the gear shifter is hard to put into first...like it's really clunky and rigid and almost fights me a little. I'm using a FULLY depressed clutch everytime and it happens mostly when I'm trying to shift it while I'm slowing down...(like say to a stop sign).

I tried making sure I'm pushing it over to the left enough....

is something wrong?

thanks in advance.

·
Registered
1,699 Posts
Don't force it and rev match when you shift. It will also loosen up a little over time.

Also don't wait until you are at a full stop before you shift into first. Actually, I never come to a complete stop unless absolutely necessary.

·
Registered
450 Posts
down shifting from second to first when approaching a stop is really tough on the syncros in the transmission. If I remember correctly, the book recommends being at almost a complete stop before trying to do that. Now, as you get more proficient at shifting, you can start to learn the process of double clutching and rev matching to get the downshifts much smoother. To make rev matching actually work on these cars, the best thing to do is to get a tune and an intake to reduce the throttle lag. That will smooth up all your shifting. Above all, practice! Practice doesn't always make perfect, but it sure helps!

·
Registered
910 Posts
Hey all,

Aside from a few classic rookie mistakes (like reving it too much before a take off or reverse) I'm doing fairly well and have already put 300 miles or so on it..

My question is,