Ford Mustang Forum banner

1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
This is my first time posting, and also my first time really learning about timing.

My problem is that I am getting no spark at the plugs, I grounded cylinder No. 1 plug, and cylinder No. 2 to multiple different grounds while cranking the motor and I'm getting no spark from either. I'll explain what I've done to the motor in case I may have missed something through the steps.

I changed out my intake manifold to a Edelbrock Performer 289, and married it with a 600 cfm 4-barrel carburetor. I took out the distributor so that I could lift off my old intake manifold without getting chunks of gasket and corrosion into my intake valley. I was weary of doing this because I've never set timing before, and never reset a distributor or installed a new one. Of course, I only had a carpenters pencil to mark the distributor, and my marks somehow smudged off.

So first, I found Top Dead Center, (marked TC on the 72 302 5.0 harmonic balancer) made sure I was on the compresion stroke by taking the spark plug out of cylinder 1 and putting my thumb over the hole, felling for the "whosh" of air. I then manually rotated the crankcase 2 notches before TC which should be 6 degrees BTC (before top center), which is what my specifications tell me is accurate for the 302 V8. After setting the initial timing I dropped the distributor in. With the pointer on the distributor pointed towards cylinder one firing point. Cranked it...no spark. Turned over fine, but has a clunking--almost ticking--but closer to a clunk noise with each stroke.

I rechecked the firing order on the distributor. There are two different diagrams that I have seen across the internet, one I think is for Ford trucks (with firing point No. 1 towards the firewall) mine has firing point no. 1 clostest to the thermostat. I went with the diagram on the Edelbrock manifold instructions sheet:

On pg. 3