Ford Mustang Forum banner

Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
133 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Today on my way home from work my car waw making a funny noise it sounded as if it was struggling but i still seemed to have the same amount of power. The sound was only really noticible when I was accelerating also when sitting in park the rpms moved up and down a bit and the car was shaking alot. When i got home i opened the hood to listen but it sounded more like it was coming from under my car. Im no expert but i was wondering if anyone has experienced something like this?

BTW I drive a 86 LX 3.8L

Thanks

-Guardian

·
Registered
11,432 Posts
Blind_Guardian said:
Today on my way home from work my car waw making a funny noise it sounded as if it was struggling but i still seemed to have the same amount of power. The sound was only really noticible when I was accelerating also when sitting in park the rpms moved up and down a bit and the car was shaking alot. When i got home i opened the hood to listen but it sounded more like it was coming from under my car. Im no expert but i was wondering if anyone has experienced something like this?

BTW I drive a 86 LX 3.8L

Thanks

-Guardian

With a car that old, it could be anything. Ist look for spark/ignition problems, could be a cracked/dirty distributor cap, then look for fuel problems (filter, clogged injectors, gummed choke, etc, then check your vacuum lines.

·
Registered
133 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Well today i starte my car and after it warmed up it sounded a little better but i still sounded a bit like a helicopter when i drove but after it warmed up it stopped.

·
Registered
2,568 Posts
sounds liek something loose, check any heat guards around the bottom, possibly over the cats.

Other than that if it's a loud clicking noise... Could be a misfire/plugs

Maybe even (god hope not) Crank shaft bearings.