Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 20 of 23 Posts

·
Registered
77 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Is this the dreaded trans problem?

I'm new to driving a manual but I've gotten pretty smooth with it and this is seeming less an less like a fluke. Car has just under 2k miles.

I'll be driving normally, accelerating up to speed and when I try to shift into third I physically can't move the shifter into 3rd. No noise, it just won't go in. Last time it happened I let off the clutch about halfway in neutral and then pushed it back in and this time I did get into third. Previously if I'd gone back down to second or straight to 4th and then tried third again, it went in like normal.

Does not do it all the time- in fact Id probably have no luck demonstrating it if I tried. The last few days have been hot and in the 90s. Hot weather may be a factor but as of now it seems pretty random.

·
Registered
1,403 Posts
crap, i thought that was a problem just with the 2011's.
2012's have the exact same transmission as 2011's. The clutch assembly has been revised but otherwise it's the same Chinese MT82. My 2012 will grind in 2nd and 3rd gear at temperatures under 60F. The lockout problem seems more isolated but notchiness and grinding are pretty common and seem to be a characteristic of the transmission.

·
Registered
2,458 Posts
The OP admits he's fairly new to manuals and he has a couple of random incidents so we jump to the conclusion he's got a bad transmission already? Wow.

I know when I was learning to drive a manual I never had any trouble getting the car into gear... ever.

ROFL! :kooky:

·
Registered
77 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
I hope it's me... or maybe a linkage slightly out of adjustment.

Thing is I went from weeks of no trouble- user error or otherwise to having it happen repeatedly for a couple days in a row which is why I'm posting.