Ford Mustang Forum banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
59 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
First of all I know very little about transmissions so if you think that a question is too stupid that's probably because it is. I have a 3 speed that I believe is from 1968, and as far as I know the clutch assembly and flywheel are also that old. So my question is what parts go on the shaft of the transmission before it is bolted to the engine block? I know that where the drive shaft connects to the transmission there is suppose to be a seal, but I don't know what its called so if anybody knows what its called and where I can get one that be great. There is also a block of metal that came with it that I THINK goes on the shaft but I don't know what goes with it or around it. Basically I need to know all the parts that I will need to make it operational and how they go on. I like pictures! Thanks!

Attachments

·
Registered
412 Posts
Ok brother I am no professional but have installed a clutch or two.
You will need the following:

1. New clutch
2. New throw out bearing
3. New pressure plate
4. Have fly wheel turned by a good machine shop
5. If you don't have one buy yourself a good clutch alignment tool. This will make the install a hole lot easier.

As for as the seals are concerned find a good parts persn and they can tell you what else you might need.

I am no mechanic good luck happy wrenching. One last thing by new stuff some people may tell you to reuse the throw out bearing but don't do it. It is easily install with the transmission out and the cost is small.

·
Registered
471 Posts