Ford Mustang Forum banner

1 - 4 of 4 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Would like to supercharge a 351 Windsor stroked to 408 with static compression of 9.86/1, aluminum edelbrock heads, roller camshaft, I live at 6000 ft above sea level, would like to stay with pump gas. Has any one had experience that they could share. thanks. Looking at the Paxton with 5-7 psi boost.

·
Registered
1,377 Posts
I have no experience with that exact setup but I do have a fair amount of experience with superchargers and in general without an intercooler 9.5:1 is the highest I would recommend. lower would be better. but I am running 9.5:1 on my mustang and with 91 octane fuel I have not had any problems with detonation. you definitely would not want to go higher than 6 pounds of boost with that high of compression.

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Thanks, that at least gives me some info, what altitude are you at, do you mind telling me the benefit of the intercooler and compression and detonation, does the cooler air affect significantly or minimally, I really think 5-6 is my goal, any help in guestimating the horsepower increase with the above set up, again thanks to mccance

·
Registered
1,377 Posts