Ford Mustang Forum banner
1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
243 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Im brand new to Mustangs, got my first one about 4 months ago (2004 GT manual w/ 89k) and it was love at first drive, and still is daily!

My wife is a displaced Kiwi, and here in about 9-10yrs from now we plan on 'retiring' to either NZ or Oz, depending upon how easy it is to get me in there (she holds NZ citizenship, but like many they transplant to Oz and vice versa, so ease-of-importing a Yank is a factor lol).

Plain and simple, I do NOT want to give up this car. I had an email exchange with Robyn @ crossovercarconversions.com and am equally defiant about giving up 33 grand to RHD convert my '04 lol.

Like i mentioned, this is a plan of attack for 10 years hence, so not wanting to part with a massive amount of spare change, how old does the vehicle need to be in order to be classified at 'historic' and escape the convert? Are there any legit/legal methods i can bring her in w/o conversion. Lastly, if i need to transfer ownership to my folks for a few yrs until such 'historic' times have arrived, that is a fallback option i've been pondering.

Thanks for your input and suggestions :bigthumbsup

·
Registered
1,773 Posts
Only I can muster from this is you want to keep the 04,you're in (?)country,they require you to be seated on the right side...and I still haven't figured out what countries you're referring to.

Sent from AutoGuide.com Free App

·
Registered
243 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Only I can muster from this is you want to keep the 04,you're in (?)country,they require you to be seated on the right side...and I still haven't figured out what countries you're referring to.
NZ = New Zealand
Oz = Australia

We are in the correct regional fora for this, hence the shorthand

I live in the States, own an '04, and will be moving to the other side of the planet in about 10 years where they drive on the wrong side of the road...

Dont wanna RHD convert