Ford Mustang Forum banner

Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
145 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
i am going to be rebuilding my engine and i wanted to save some cash and pull the motor myself with the help of my father. i have never done this before so i was just wondering how hard it is. and how long it should take. also how much do you think my car will be worth after the rebuild. thanks.

·
Banned
12,436 Posts
What are your goals and budget for the car?

·
Registered
145 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
im not looking to supercharge or anything. i just want to have a fresh motor. im pretty sure i have a bad rod bearing. also im going to be using it as a daily driver for a year or two. and then its going in the garage. eventually i will sell this car. maybe get an 04 or 04 somewhere down the road depending on my situation.

·
Banned
12,436 Posts
Well at this point I'd just shop on Ebay or Craigslist for a used engine takeout, lots of them in the $2000 range (I can't imagine the teardown and rebuild being less), then sell your bad engine to help finance the project, the car will be worth as much as they go for these days, maybe $5-6K if it's in good shape

·
Banned
12,436 Posts
Another budget option would be to toss the dohc and put a 5.0 in it...much, much cheaper, esp if the long term goal is something else

·
Registered
145 Posts
Discussion Starter #7
i have a hard time buying from ebay...plus i can get a rebuild from mmr for 1600 if i pull the motor myself. if they pull it it will be around 3000.

·
Banned
12,436 Posts
is that for the shortblock? on exchange? Or the whole longblock?

·
Registered
145 Posts
Discussion Starter #9
well now that i think about it they are just going to replace my rod bearings, grind the crank as needed, and also give me arp headstuds and all the gaskets.

·
Banned
12,436 Posts