Ford Mustang Forum banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
149 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I have a 2000 3.8 5 speed. Right now I have a single flowmaster and a k&n filter. I'm also riding on cobra replica rims. With 275/40/17 in back and 255/45/17 in front. WhAt would I be running now?

In the next three months I plan on getting the VAP windstar kit and divorced duals. Possibly a set of udp's as well. What would I run then?

What cars am I faster than now? Like some common cars that people mod and mess around with?

Thanks

·
Registered
2,747 Posts
Probably in the mid to low 16's. Adding those bolt-ons should take you into the high 15's. These times assume you can drive/launch well/consistently (not easy). I wouldn't mess with anything V8 and quite honestly the V6 is not a street-fighter so you need to choose very carefully what you want to mess around with.

R

·
0 Posts
I also say somewhere in the 16's especially with the 17's on there. Those are going to slow you down a second or two in the 1/4 mile.

·
Registered
149 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
A whole second? That seems like an awful lot. Does this still put me ahead of the average 17 year old and his civic? I'm 17 with a not too fast car as well by the way. Haha

·
Registered
8,348 Posts
There are alot of factors involved here:

1. Driver mod.
2. Car weight.
3. Wheel/tire combo.

Thomas lost a whole 2 seconds in the 1/4 mile when he went from stock 15's to 17's on his car. It was a 97.

My venture to guess would 16-18's in the 1/4. I think my best pass('01) was [email protected] way back when my car only had a t-lock, dual exhaust, CAI, and a tune. It has come a long way since then, but you get the idea.....

·
Registered
149 Posts
Discussion Starter #6
Were you riding on stock tires? Did you have gears as well as the t lock? I'm trying to get my car to just be somewhat respectable. Like not fast, but fun.

·
Registered
2,906 Posts