Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 20 of 21 Posts

·
Registered
11 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
My question is can I do with out it?

The tube that runs from my valve cover up to my intake tends to spit some oil into the intake. I am new to these cars and dont know if
A- It's a bad thing?

B- Do I need that tube?

C- are there any mods you can suggest to help prevent this oil seeping into my intake?

I have read in here that people have used breather filters and also read NOT to do this on my EFI car?? Whats the scoop?

Can some sort of simple catch can be used, I think I read a post or two about some sort of system with a reed valve set up??

any help would be great?!

·
Banned
9,216 Posts
C get an air line moisture remover. open it all the way.

as oil comes through it will drip in to the cup... when some gets in there open it up and dump it out... thats what my friend did... no more oil in the intake

·
Registered
200 Posts
that tube sucks the air out of the crank case if its burning oil then you need a valve job . if your running nos you gona want it working..

·
Registered
11 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
I do plan on spraying it, so checking the valves is next then I guess. A valve job is a bout two weeks away for me though time wise. Any suggestions until then?

I just looked at the moisture removers and if I find a simple one or can fab it from old parts real quick rather than order a 20 part I dont want, that would be great.

Also this car will be used for track mostly so I am looking to get rid of the EGR system, I would be willing there is a link somewhere but I cant find it.

Again thanks for the help and quick responses....

edited for catch can.... that sounds fabable

·
Registered
200 Posts
if thats the case just plug it till valve job, you be ok:bigthumbsup

·
Registered
5,170 Posts