Ford Mustang Forum banner
Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey guys this is my first time at this forum and I'd like to ask a few questions. I recently traded my nissan pickup for a 1986 mustang lx 5.0 I'm happy with the trade, though at 35 mph to 50mph I can hear what sounds like some rear end whine. I thought I'd change it and hopefully reduce the noise. what gear oil brand and weight would you guys recommend? The car has 200,000 miles on it, with a surprisingly decent amount of power left.

Also I was wondering if 20w-50 motor oil would hurt this car. I'm doubting it, but I've had it for about 2 weeks and it gets ragged on a bit at least once a day. Some say that thats a bit too thick? It averages about 80 degrees outside where I'm at now. I know with the 10w30 it has now, it needs a quart every time i stop for gas.

For info on the car, It has an msd distributor, cold air intake, bbk off road h-pipe with 2.5 inch flowmaster exhaust. I have a set of bbk shorty headers that came with the car that i will be putting on eventually. IT burns oil like hell though. And leaves some smoke.

And also, the trans is a world class t5 correct? so that takes dextron II if i recieved the information right...

·
Registered
412 Posts
A stock T-5 takes mercon ATF 2.8 qts.

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 · (Edited)
Oh. Ok. I was making sure because I heard the earlier T-5s took 90 weight gear oil. So dextron mercon atf will work fine? and i was wondering if I could add some of that lucas automatic transmission fix to it to reduce the wine of 1st 2nd and 3rd gears... I tall that stuff does is thicken the fluid...