Ford Mustang Forum banner

Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I am new to this kind of project, so not really sure where first I should start. I have a 1968 Mustang Coupe that has old primer on it, and has been stripped on the inside ready for interior. The vehicle only has the headlights still on it (none of the tailights, or signals). I was considering on having the paint done first before getting the tailights and signals to put back on. To me it seems like it would be easier that way. Some others have told me to put the signal stuff on first, and then just have them taped off. If I do it that way even though you won't see it the paint will not cover below the signal lenses. What would be the best to do first the paint, or the signals. There is no body work that has to be done it is pretty straight. Thanks.

·
Registered
6 Posts
I am new to this as well, but I will be painting mine soon as well. I would say that if you have to drive the car to the shop to get it painted then put tail lights on untill you get to the shop and then take them off before they paint. I personaly will be take everything that I can off the car other then the tail lights before I take it to the shop, and I will take them off when I get there. I know the guy who will be painting mine and he said that would save me $300-$500 at a normal shop.

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
19Pony65

I read your reply, and appreciated the information. To me that seams to me to be the way to do it even though people probably are right that some scratches will develope when the lights are put back on maybe. That sounds reasonable on what the guy told you it could save you, because they don't have to do all the extra work. That was my thinking behind it that I might be able to get it painted more reasonably doing that. Take care and good luck. I am glad to know I am not the only one thinking that way.

·
Registered
360 Posts