Ford Mustang Forum banner

Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 20 of 21 Posts

·
Registered
27 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi, im a newbie here. Got a question for ya'll. I bought my 07 gt used with 27,000 on it. It ran great! Unfortunately i live in a county where you have to pass emissions. Previous owner did not.

When I got it it had a C&L cai, an offroad mid with flowmaster exhaust, and obviously some kind of computer tune but no programmer with the car. Dealer had to put everything back to stock except the flowmasters. They gave me the C&L so i have that to put back on.

Here's the problem and where ill start the arguing: ive read u have to have a tuner for the cai to work correctly, the big question is which should i get? the sct or the diablo??

ive read a few opinions for both but would like to get some input. also with stock headers does the cat mid pipe REALLY make that big of difference because the tubes seem same size as aftermarket. Its jst such a hassle to have to go back and redo everything every year to pass. Plus very costly to have it done by someone else.

·
Banned
9,214 Posts
some cais dont rewuire a tune. but i got the SCT i love it:D

·
Registered
259 Posts
SCT X3....Get a tune from Bamachips to go with the C&L CAI, you won't regret it...:bigthumbsup

·
Registered
12,664 Posts
call up tillmanspeed.com and tell them your specs on your car and they will send you a tune that will shend shivers down your spine :laugh:

·
Registered
2,541 Posts
Both SCT and Diablo are good, but more custom tuners use SCT than Diablo.

·
Registered
45 Posts
The reason for going with an SCT is more tuners write for it. Also email tunes are easier to download due to the usb port. Diablo uses a serial port for downloads.

Most email tuners will give you 3 tunes for your car with the purchase of the tuner.

·
Registered
27 Posts
Discussion Starter #8