Ford Mustang Forum banner

1 - 20 of 25 Posts

·
Registered
178 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Years ago a friend of mine used to put bags of sand in the trunk of his '87 GT when winter came. He claimed it helped his car maintain traction in the snow. Does anyone living in snowy climates still do that when winter comes? I'll be using my '14 GT year round so I'll be adding 4 snow tires, but I'm wondering what else people do to help in the snow.
TIA for any advice.

·
Registered
1,451 Posts
I went all last winter without.
I figured I'd try without and see if I ever was in a situation where they would be a help and everything went fine so I never bothered getting any.

·
Registered
2,656 Posts
I've been driving my Mustangs every winter since 2010. With four winter tires I've never needed any extra weight in the trunk. I've been in some pretty hairy situations, but managed without it.

·
Registered
209 Posts
2005 4.0L V6, 5 spd manual.
Just snows on the rear.
Have driven 4 winters in southern CT AOK.

l

·
Registered
191 Posts
I grew up in upstate NY and we all used to keep some bags of sand in our trunks during the winter. Of course you still have to take it easy but i felt like it always helped and if you or anyone else should happen to get stuck you can just rip one open and use the sand to get some extra traction. I think i used to keep anywhere between 80-100lbs of it back there

·
Registered
258 Posts
Two winters with my old 2011 and one with the 2014 and I never put anything in the trunk. Just make sure you have all season tires. In the winter I use my stock 17" wheels with the factory tires. Just so you know the stock 18" all season Pirelli tire are only good for lite snow anything more then a few inches and you will have problems and the 19" wheels and tires are going to be worse.

·
Registered
256 Posts
Long island roads are pretty well cared for. The biggest fear there is an idiot trying to make the light. just remember to not spin the wheels and you will be ok.