Ford Mustang Forum banner
Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
11 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am wanting to buy a cold air kit and a chip. but i have been looking and people but on the cold air and say they need a tune.. and that a chip will help you tune it. but i dont know what kinda chip to get. or cold air kit. and i dont think i have a dyno around here. any info?

·
Registered
24 Posts
i am very new to this stuff too but i would get a sct flash tuner from american muscle with the 93 octane racing tune. i have a K&N cold air intake but it did not need a tune so i havent bought a tuner yet

·
Registered
849 Posts
What year stang u got, just so u no, the 99-04's DON'T NEED A TUNE w/ a CAI as they don't do more than 5hp!!! Most ppl with the "edge" stangs only get a CAI for looks... A tuner is always good though, look @ AM's they come w/ a lifetime free custom tunes, so as u add more "stuff" you can get free tunes 4 it......

·
Banned
3,704 Posts
Yeah, don't bother with a chip of any sort. Get the tuner like Roush said. Most people agree that SCT is the brand to go with.

Do a search on this site, or on Google and you can find more info about the tuner.

If you do buy a chip, you'll end up taking it out later and throwing it in the garbage while cursing yourself for buying it.

·
Registered
11 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
What year stang u got, just so u no, the 99-04's DON'T NEED A TUNE w/ a CAI as they don't do more than 5hp!!! Most ppl with the "edge" stangs only get a CAI for looks... A tuner is always good though, look @ AM's they come w/ a lifetime free custom tunes, so as u add more "stuff" you can get free tunes 4 it......
so is it even worth buyin a CAI? I have a 01 GT

·
Registered
849 Posts
nope just 4 looks and if u want a reusable air filter, just get a k&n replacement one and u'll b good....

·
Banned
335 Posts
A CAI will add alittle power and your engine bay will look alot