Ford Mustang Forum banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts
T

·
0 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I have a 14 5.0 as of right now it has Boss manifold, Jlt CAI, O/R X, Roush axleback, 4.10s, custom dyno tune done by previous owner, and I am currently running 315/35/20 nitto NT05s. The car is on SVE springs.

My very first time at the track with the car I was trapping 112-118 spinning in first and second. ( still learning the car haha)

So my question is what rpm would you all recommend launching at? Keep in mind I still have a 2 piece drive shaft. I'm not a novice at a manual and I feel like I can pull off an 11 second pass. Am I crazy?

·
2,801 Posts
I have a 14 5.0 as of right now it has Boss manifold, Jlt CAI, O/R X, Roush axleback, 4.10s, custom dyno tune done by previous owner, and I am currently running 315/35/20 nitto NT05s. The car is on SVE springs.

My very first time at the track with the car I was trapping 112-118 spinning in first and second. ( still learning the car haha)

So my question is what rpm would you all recommend launching at? Keep in mind I still have a 2 piece drive shaft. I'm not a novice at a manual and I feel like I can pull off an 11 second pass. Am I crazy?
It really varies by track surface condition, temp that day, your tires, and many other things. Trial and error is going to be the best way to dial that in and it can change by the or even by the run on a long day. Without being in your car and trying it on that given day, track, and etc I can't say for sure. Start with about 2K-2500 and work your way up. My guess is your sweet spot will be right around 2500-3K. This is based off my experience with my 2011 5.0 GT.

T

·
0 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Yeah, there are a lot of variables! The first time I went I only got three passes so I'm eager to get back out there!

·
2,801 Posts
Yeah, there are a lot of variables! The first time I went I only got three passes so I'm eager to get back out there!