Ford Mustang Forum banner

Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 20 of 20 Posts

·
Registered
2,801 Posts
Is the engine "stock"? Or does it have better heads, cam, etc.? Supercharged? Nitrous?

Gotta have more info.

·
Registered
3,404 Posts
If you're naturally aspirated, Motorcraft is best. If you're wanting to drop some $ on them, you can get Splitfires. I don't think the Motorcrafts are any better, although I'd like to hear some arguments.
If you're running a power adder, stay tuned for others' posts.

·
Registered
1,131 Posts
im not very experienced with plugs and the 5.0, but there is a new spark plug on the market, it might be worth a look see.

www.e3sparkplugs.com

i think thats it

if its not, just google E3 Sparkplugs

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #6
Cool, thanks for all the replies. It is a stock engine and the only thing on it
is a cold air system, high flow cats and H-pipes. Thanks again for all the help.

·
Registered
2,801 Posts
shakerhood said:
On the Stocker Autolite 25s gapped to the Factory gap of .054
Or Motorcraft ASF42C.

·
Registered
3,404 Posts
shakerhood said:
Good old 5.0s seem to love Standard copper plugs! None of the high tech expensive jazzy plugs.
Exactly... until you get into the power adders. I think this is true for all OHV V8s, the real muscle.

·
Registered
1,131 Posts
ive actually read that because those fancy plugs are made of platinum is the reason some older cars dont like them.
the older ignition systems simply dont have enough juice to get a good spark off of platinum.
the article recommended thart all cars made before 1993 avoid the platinum plugs

·
Registered
3,404 Posts
systronic said:
ive actually read that because those fancy plugs are made of platinum is the reason some older cars dont like them.
the older ignition systems simply dont have enough juice to get a good spark off of platinum.
the article recommended thart all cars made before 1993 avoid the platinum plugs