Ford Mustang Forum banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
95 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
In a previous thread I asked for help on installing the Steeda Tri-Ax shifter but I finally gave up and had a shop do it. Well they did not do it quite right (the rubber boot had to be siliconed in to seal it) and now there is a bad Vibration above 80mph. I am seriously thinking about paying another 250$ to have it removed. Steeda has been very helpful but they don't have a solution. The vibration is low frequency and goes woo-woo-woo at 80mph with a 2Hz frequency(sorry for the lame sound description but that is what it sounds like-I am a audio engineer by the way, and I know that woo-woo is not a normal technical term!). Below 80 it goes away. The shop marked the drive shaft and assured me , by their marks, that it went back in the same way.

The car does shift much, much better now but I can't live with the vibration/noise. Does anyone have any suggestions? Hate to waste money taking it back out again.

Thanks Everyone!

MSB Mustang

G

·
I got to be honest, no additional heat, noise, vibration, "woo-woo-woo" is worth any thousandths of a second shift gain IMO.

I can slam the stock one with mad speed, no problemo. Especially now that I have this;

Attachments

·
Registered
95 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
Still vibrating at 80mph