Ford Mustang Forum banner

1 - 20 of 27 Posts

·
Registered
20 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I have seen numerous threads on this topic before, but haven't really found enough plain and simple answers to my questions. So here goes.

I am brand new to the world of performance cars. Been educating myself a little bit in the past 2 weeks. Just bought a used 2005 Mustang GT (24k miles on it), Auto tranny, 2 days ago. It is completely stock, never been modded (the 1 owner before me must have just driven it on the weekends or something).

Here is what I plan on doing:
-Dropping in a supercharger, specifically the Kenne Bell Stage 1 (and keeping it at 8.5 psi boost until I can strengthen the engine and other components).
-Keeping the rest of the motor/drivetrain/etc. stock until I can slowly start buying forged parts, rebuild transmission to keep my car from dying after 15k miles.
-Eventually upgrade suspension after everything is said and done.

Here are my goals:
-Have a car that is quick enough to put a stock GT500 to shame for a quarter of the price. (GT500 is my dream car, however let's be real, I don't get paid enough to justify throwing down $45k-$50k on one.)
-I plan on using this car as my DD/funmobile until the wheels fall off (hopefully years from now), racing/driving hard occasionally, nothing too crazy. I have no need for a bunch of mods (or a bunch of debt) to get the HP I want; I just want 1 solution (which is why I'm thinking of the KB).

Here are the questions I need answered:

1. Kenne Bell's sales reps told me that the Stage 1 or 2 do not decrease reliability/life of the stock engine as long as I keep it under 10 psi and use their out-of-the-box tune they send with it. Is this really true?

2. Same goes for HP. I understand the engine and other parts have HP limits, but will the Stage 1 KB be okay to use?

3. A list of what would need to be forged/swapped out first to last in order to get up to the 675 HP they advertise.