Ford Mustang Forum banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
14 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm a newbie poster here but I've been searching this and other forums for a couple of years trying to resolve this particular problem. The car is a '01 4.6 (2V) GT. A few years ago I installed a brand new '03 4.6 (2V) GT crate engine. The engine is completely stock and bolted right in with all connectors matching up perfectly. The new engine has about 30K miles now and runs great with one exception; starting the car when the engine is warm takes multiple attempts. The starter cranks normally but the engine doesn't catch. The only remedy is to push on the accelerator pedal (not all the way down) and then feather it for about 15 seconds after it starts to keep the engine running. After that it will usually stay running. When the engine is cold (like when the car sits overnight), it starts right up without this issue.

Here's some history on steps I've taken during the two years: Replaced IAC valve, replaced TPS, cleaned MAF (the right way), replaced alternator (local Ford dealership's suggestion...the only time I've ever taking this car to someone else for help), replaced battery, replaced starter, replaced fuel filter, replaced CCRM (fix for a/c relay failure). Eventually after none of these things fixed the problem, I was thinking the issue was probably with the fuel pump, which was original with the car. That pump finally failed completely last week at 170K+ miles, but when I replaced it, the warm engine hard start problem was still there.

I put a fuel pressure gauge on the rail and believe that I have ruled out any fuel pressure issues as the root cause. I have OBD II scanner software and I used this to verify there are no trouble codes stored in memory. For that matter, this problem has never triggered the check engine light on the dash.