Ford Mustang Forum banner

1 - 20 of 25 Posts

·
Registered
116 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello all, I'm thinking of upgrading the brakes on my 86 5.0 GT. It still has the stock 4cyl settup that Ford used until it went to the 60mm caliper for 87-93. I have already purchased the correct spindles needed for the upgrade. I want to go with the 73mm SVO calipers from the 84-86 SVO cars, but in the fine print on the bottom, it says that they are not recommended for drum brake rears. What gives? This is kind of making me worry... any insight would be greatly appreciated.

·
Registered
230 Posts
I am no expert on this but I would venture to guess the master cylinder is inadequate and the proportioning valve is different. I'm not 100% sure on this, hopefully a person with more experience chimes in

·
Registered
116 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Yeah I wasnt sure about the master cylinder. I was thinking about upgrading to the 93 Cobra master if it wasnt going to be too hard. Just want to get rid of the crappy 4cyl stuff. Thanks for the input though, much appreciated.

·
Registered
13,138 Posts
Along with the MC I also think you will need a brake booster as the 4 cylinder one is also smaller.

·
Registered
116 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
I agree all of these make sense. I will look into the 87-93 GT brake booster, and MC. My initial thought was it would throw off control under hard breaking, as the SVO calipers would have more bite than the drums, and it would pull the rear around. Does anyone know of anyone who has done this swap? The calipers are only like $125 on latemodelresto

·
Banned
480 Posts
Yeah a new MC, booster and potentially a proportioning valve.
MC out of a Cobra or 94-98 Mustang V6. A booster from the V6 SN95's will work well too.

·
Registered
116 Posts
Discussion Starter #7