Ford Mustang Forum banner

1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
75 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey guys, a little help, suggestions please.

Enkei PF01 18x9, 5x114.3 +45 silver
I have these wheels for my 2012 Brembo GT for track days I was hoping I could get some suggestions as to what tires/size maybe a good choice.

I will be running the Autobahn and Road America. I only started doing track days last year and did all but one in my Mazdaspeed 3 (DD). This year it's time to be a big boy and take the Mustang :yakyak:

Price is always an issue so I am looking for good value, but don't mind paying for a tire that may last a little longer. I know this will depend on how hard I drive and how good I am. With that said I am a beginner so no slicks.

Thanks in advance.

·
Registered
810 Posts
You are going to get MANY opinions on this, but I'll start by giving you my 0.02...

Since you've stated that you are a beginner, you can use pretty much whatever you want and still have a blast doing it. Also, since you won't be pushing 10/10ths, you could get away with using A/S tires.

Either way, if I was you...

I would get a 255/45/18. There are MANY tire options in that size and all are very cost-effective. Depending where you like to shop, you can get a tires for around $150 a piece.

Try to look for a "forgiving" tire. Something that DOES slide a little bit so it is easier to correct and won't make you pay for improper throttle and steering corrections.

Tires WILL mask skill with beginner drivers. I don't care what anyone says. As stated...you can even start with an A/S tire if you want. They will last MUCH longer than a summer tire and better teach you the basics of high-performance driving and car control.

·
Registered
2,666 Posts
As Katastrophe stated, an All-Season tire will definitely net you the most use for your money spent.