Ford Mustang Forum banner

1 - 20 of 61 Posts

·
Registered
61 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey everyone im new to this. I just bought my first mustang. It's an 89 foxbody gt 5.0L. I have always wanted one and now i got one. I think i may have gotten screwed. I bought the car from a dealership, the salesmen was selling it for a friend(this is a small dealership) anyway when i test drove it it seemed fine. Anyway when i shift from 1st to 2nd i have to keep presure on the stick or it will grind. When keeping presure on the stick it will make a small pop noise and then everything is good. I have to be goin about 15mph to down shift into 1st and not grind. I can shift into 3rd no problems and then same with 4th and 5th. When i try and down shift from 4th to 3rd it wont go into 3rd i have to wiggle the stick a little bit and it will go in or i have to move over to first and slightly push up but not go into 1st, then i can go back to 3rd and it goes right into gear. The guy told me that the clutch is new, maybe about 3 months old. I guess the guy didnt drive the car much because he wasnt home ever. I had it looked at by a machanic and he said it sounds like a syncro to him. I was on this site the other day and read that it could possible be a clutch adjustment or timing/alignment. I have bad luck so i am going to go ahead and say that the news i get back on here is not going to be what i want to hear:weepsAnyway anybody have any thoughts on whats going on?

G

·
Welcome to AFM! First... don't ever shift into first when moving... only when at a complete stop... but that's not your issue... just saying.

Let me move this to the 5.0 section for you and see if anyone has any thoughts.

Thanks for joining and we'll get you figured out.
:bigthumbsup

·
Registered
6,328 Posts
how many miles on the trans?
probably synchros...

·
Registered
61 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·