Ford Mustang Forum banner

Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
i want to modify my 70 under the hood, i want a twin turbo engine, but i have no idea where to start, im new to the mustang and im lost, can anyone please help me.

also if anyone can tell me how to put more torque in my car that'll be great

thanks

·
Registered
5,329 Posts
What setup are you running now? What trans? How to add torque depends on what you have to begin with. A twin turbo setup will be expensive to do, but will make monstrous amounts of power.

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
301 engine automatic transmission
it really doesnt matter the cost of a twin turbo
just a point in the right direction, what do i need

·
Registered
1,626 Posts
I guess the most obvious thing would be a couple of turbos. Then you need special headers to mount the turbos. Then you need intake piping. Then an intercooler. Blow through carburetor (I think) or a box to mount the carburetor into or fuel injection (preferred for tuning).

Then you need forged dished pistons with a compression ratio of about 8.5:1. You know, just get an all-steel stroker kit rated for 700 hp. You'll also need a good valvetrain. Go full-roller (roller camshaft and rocker arms); this'll help power, idle quality, and reliability. You'll also want a good set of cylinder heads to make the most of the boost. I'd go with AFR heads myself.

You'll also need to upgrade your transmission to something like a TKO 600 and a 9" rear with 31 spline axles. A better suspension would also be a good idea. Torque arm type suspensions seem to work very well. Check out Griggs Racing, Total Control Products, and RRS. A stable front suspension is also a necessity. There's quite a few companies that make good front suspensions.

Make sure you invest in some good brakes, too. Wilwood makes some really good brakes that I want to put on my car.