Ford Mustang Forum banner

Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 20 of 23 Posts

·
Registered
19 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Well, this seemed to be the best place for my first message (besides the howdy posted up above).

A few years back I made the mistake of NOT buying a 92 5.0 LX convertible. I would now like to rectify that mistake by looking on the used market for a nice, unmolested, one.

Something interesting....each and every early 90s 5.0 that I can find in my area has an asking price of at least $1500-$2000 above NADA retail. My sources are the local papers here in Austin/San Antonio, as well as the larger papers in Dallas and Houston as well as autotrader.com Now I've been buying cars for about 30 years and this is the first time I've seen this big a difference in what NADA claims a car is selling for and what I have seen in the ads. Does anyone have any thoughts on what might be causing this?

Now I'm not talking about the special edition reds or yellows or the 7up cars...I mean just a plain old LX 5.0 convertible in decent shape.

Frankly, I don't mind paying the current asking prices...I just want to make sure I'm getting a fair deal. Thanks in advance for making this newbie feel welcome!

Mike Nassour / Austin Texas

·
Registered
136 Posts
I had to pay above nada by $1500 here in ny. Uphere everything has rust and my 5.0 is pretty much rust free, for ny standards. Everything is rusty here The k member has some but when the motors out I'm cleaning that up with the other small rust. After that it should be good since it doesn't see winter. But, its one owner(verified female) full maintenance records, no window sticker but original bill of sale. For some strange reason, the 80's-93 5.0 are rare around here. Not many 4cyls either. But above 93 theres plenty. The high prices are probably the result of the market. I could have passed on my car but I liked it and probably would have regretted not buying it.

·
Registered
579 Posts