Ford Mustang Forum banner
Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 2 of 2 Posts

·
Registered
12 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Well, the V6 sure has my attention, and I've seen some cryptic references about the "Performance Package" that’s supposed to be released soon, but I was wondering if anyone here had any more info on it.

This link is a rundown of the specs -

http://www.muscularmustangs.com/2009/news0285_2011_mustang_performance_package.php

Any idea about cost and roll out dates?

I'm not a mechanic - I don’t know how useful all the specific upgrades are - so any explanation would be appreciated.

Any idea if the convertible will have any performance upgrade options? I assume the Performance Package will apply to the Coupe, but I am hopeful for some kind of upgrade options for the vert. (I was disappointed that the 3:31:1 Limited Slip Axle is Coupe only. From what I hear the pick up at 0-30 is good but not great - performance gets better as you rev up. I'm still deciding between the vert and the coupe - totally different attitudes, but hey, why cant you have your cake and eat it too?)

What about overall value? Is the performance package something that you could do better and cheaper aftermarket?

Also - on a side note - I was wondering if anyone had any experience with attempting to mix / match the Pony / Mustang Club packages. I like the Club Grille but I don’t like the door stripe and I really don’t like the decklid tape, while I do like the understated Pony lower stripe. The decklid spoilers seem a bit silly to me.

What’s the general feeling about the utility of the HID lamps vs. the package auto headlamps / daytime running lamps? The added safety of the daytime runners seems useful (I live in LA and I need all the safety features I can get - a lot of idiot drivers in this town), but the increased brightness of the HIDs is obviously better for night driving. Is there that much of a difference in lumens between the HID and the standard?