Ford Mustang Forum banner

1 - 20 of 21 Posts

·
Registered
16 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
A month ago I purchased a 2002 3.8L MT Mustang from a relative. A friend pointed out to me today that my RPMs are not dropping when I depress the clutch to shift, or quickly shift into neutral. Since this is my first manual transmission vehicle, I was unaware this was problematic. Because of this problem, the car bucks when shifting into any gear, most likely because the engine is forced down in revolutions per minute to match the gear. Naturally I assumed because I'm a newbie that my shifting habits were bad.

It's not that the RPMs don't fall at all, but rather that it takes a good 3-4 seconds after the clutch is depressed (without any gas) for the RPMs to fall, yet they still fall incredibly slower than they should. In other cars, whenever the clutch is depressed, the RPMs immediately fall down to idle.

The friend who told me of this has a father who is a mechanic, and when I spoke to him about the issue, he offered the suggestion that it could be a computer problem, AKA a sensor is bad or malfunctioning. He mentioned the throwout sensor, which could be the culprit apparently.

What does AFM.com think of this? First of all, am I overreacting because this is standard with all mustangs? Has anyone encountered similar problems? Is this a sign my throwout bearing is bad? The clutch has been replaced within 3 years, so naturally I would assume neither the throwout bearing or clutch is at fault (there is no grinding of gears or scratchy throwout noises).

Any help would be appreciated, however I will be taking the vehicle to a certified mechanic for other reasons besides this issue.

·
Registered
371 Posts
Check your TPS sensor. That's a sign of it going bad

·
Registered
371 Posts
Btw my dad has a 02 v6 5spd and his was doin the same thing... It was the TPS

·
Registered
6,859 Posts