Ford Mustang Forum banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
53 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey guy, hoping you can help. I'm working on my Wife's 67 coupe (I6 car converted to a 289 by a previous owner). Here's the deal, it needed a new alternator, so I bought one a few months back, yanked it off, and then it sat (got distracted by my other projects). I started putting it back together yesterday, and I can't remember where this one yellow wire I found is supposed to hookup at. Looking at a 67 diagram tells me that the wire goes back into the main harness. However, I seem to remember it being connected to the sta post on the alternator, which is more like a 65 harness, I left the wire routed the way it was when I took it apart so it would be easier to remember. Can anybody help? I am not a wiring noob, but I am a first gen noob. It is the single yellow wire second from the top.

Thanks

·
Registered
53 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Yes I know that, I'm talking about third wire from the bottom that is yellow.

·
Registered
15 Posts
Looking at the starting/charging wiring diagram for the 67', that wire is not even there. I know for a fact that it is there on my 67' coupe. I had a real hard time figuring out my charging wiring when I had to deal with it on mine and neither the Haynes manual or the diagram thread on this forum fixed my problems. Finally I found a charging diagram in an old volt/dwell/tachometer manual from the 60's that just so happened to be labeled 'Mustang' and I haven't had an electrical issue since.

I lost that manual but I will trace my wires tomorrow when the sun comes up and let you know where they all go. Hopefully mine is stock 67' and will work for yours instead of some nightmare hackjob put together by the DPO that I just so happened to figure out.

I'll post again tomorrow if you haven't figured it out yet.

·
Registered
15 Posts