Ford Mustang Forum banner

Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 20 of 30 Posts

·
Registered
22 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey im new to the world of mustangs and i have a 06 V6 and im looking for all minimal HP upgrades. Im not looking for HP boosters that cost thousands just the little things that dont cast an arm and a leg. If you would be so kind to give a list of a couple things with the brands of the items it would be very appreciated.

Thanks
-Tyler

:hihi::hihi::hihi:

·
Premium Member
72,882 Posts
Poke around here and you'll quickly learn the favorites. CAI/tune and gears are generally the two most popular.

·
Registered
22 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
What is the first thing i should do to my 06 v6 mustang performance wise????

plz help me.....looking for all the cheaper things to do to my stang for all the HP i can get. i was looking at a K&N CAI but i wasnt planning on getting it tuned. I heard that you dont need to get it tuned. any other little things i can do for more HP? im on a tight budget so i dont want to be spending thousands.
thanks
-Tyler

·
Registered
571 Posts
a tune is one of the best things you can do along with a CAI. Gears maybe.

·
Registered
12,666 Posts
swapping out the V6 muffler for a GT-takeoff can yield upwards of 8 HP and it costs around $160 and can be done in 10 minutes

·
Registered
22 Posts
Discussion Starter #8
ok so im no mechanic and dont know much about adding HP to cars. So what exactly are gears, how hard to install and cost??

·
Premium Member
72,882 Posts
ok so im no mechanic and dont know much about adding HP to cars. So what exactly are gears, how hard to install and cost??
You'd be swapping the ring and pinion in the differential. Doesn't yield hp but gives you quicker off the line performance because the driveshaft is turning more rotations for every axle rotation. Not a DIY job. Cost varies but $600 is a good ballpark figure.

·
Registered
1,171 Posts